Journeying Through the Transition Zone

It’s raining here in Colorado, and I’m writing this sitting by our little wood stove while the birds tweet and twitter in the pinyon trees.  It’s spring, and we’re in the transition zone.  A week or so ago it was in the 80’s.  Then the winds blew for days and there were wildfires across the region.  Then it snowed.  Today the high is supposed to be 50-something, with rain all day.  And this after one of the driest winters on record.

The transition zone.  Moving from one season to the next.  Stormy, unpredictable weather.  Is there life in that one bush or did the dry winter kill it?  Will everyone’s newly planted flowers make it or will there be a freeze?  Should we leave those dang (dirty) pigeons that have nested in our shed until after their eggs have hatched, or get rid of them now and seal off the openings?  What lovely surprises are going to come up in the beds around our new house that we moved into in January?  Anticipation.  Disappointment.  Change.

And beauty, growth and GREEN everywhere.

My husband and I are in the transition zone right now.  We both want to transition to making our living from our creativity.  He’d like to make furniture or build up bikes.  I want to become a better silversmith and grow my business, Magic Carpet Dance Arts.  I want to publish my novel.  I want to get paid for writing on Elance.  Maybe someday I’d like to teach belly dance.  But we’re not there yet.  We’re moving from one season to the next.  Stormy, unpredictable emotions.  Is there life in that idea or did many years of drought kill it?  Will our newly planted businesses make it or will they be frozen by the cold economy?  Should we allow certain unpleasant responsibilities (that make us money) to continue to nest in our lives, or should we get rid of them?  And what new ventures are sprouting within us?  Anticipation.  Disappointment.  Change.

And beauty, growth and GREEN everywhere.

But with everything inside of me, I just want to be through the transition zone.  I want the change to be over.  I want things to settle down.  I want to make it all happen NOW.  It’s too scary.  It’s too unpredictable.  It’s too stormy.  And I push and I rush and I fight to move forward.

Except that you can’t hurry spring.  It comes at its own whim.  One bud.  One new blade of grass.  This flower.  That leaf.

So I send out a prayer today: Help me to stay in the present, to enjoy the beauty, to revel in the growth and the GREEN.  Help me to walk slowly through the transition zone.  Help me to enjoy the surprises.  Help me to enjoy the change.

Leave a Reply

